Skip to main content


Please contact us if you are interested in joining our committee. Committee members must have an affiliation with an organization (school, business, etc.) for which they will be a representative of their language group.

Committee members can support the Multilingual Chicago initiative in the following ways:

1) Do YOU know a school, church or other organization that offers instruction in Heritage Languages (Polish children learning Polish, for example), or instruction in a second language? LET US KNOW! Look for a language learning survey which will soon be available on this site.

2) Write a letter to the editor about how your language group contributes to the city of Chicago.

3) Forward articles to us that you see in the media related to multilingualism.


Steering Committee for
Multilingual Chicago Official Initiative

Ms. Amy Aleman
Senior Director of Adult and Community Programs
Albany Park Community Center

5121 North Kimball Avenue
Chicago, Il 60625


Mr. Inchul Choi, Executive Director

Korean-American Community Services

4300 North California Avenue

Chicago, Il 60618

773-583-5501, (ext.) 105


Ms. Christina Claunch
Chicago Public Schools

7343 North McVicker Avenue
Chicago, Il 60646


Dr. Julio Cruz, Senior Vice President

Puerto Rican Parade Committee of Chicago

1237 North California Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60622


Mr. Robert Davis

Confucius Institute, Chicago's Chinese Connections Program, Chicago Public Schools Office of Language and Cultural Education

Walter Payton College Prep, Room 106

1034 North Wells Street.

Chicago, IL 60610



Ms. Mary Ann Folino, Principal

Carl Schurz High School

3601 North Milwlaukee

Chicago, Il 60641



Ms. Jean M. Fujiu, Executive Director

Japanese American Service Committee

4427 North Clark Street

Chicago, Il 60640

773- 275-7212


Ms. Carmen Gioiosa
President, American Association of Italian Teachers


Ms. Samantha Godden-Chmielowicz, President

Illinois Council on the Teaching of Foreign Language and World Language Department Chair

Carl Schurz High School
2842 North Troy Street
Chicago, Il 60618


Professor Raphael G. Guajardo
College of Education
University of Illinois at Chicago
1040 West Harrison, MC 147
Chicago, Il 60607-7133


Professor Samina Hadi-Tabassum
Dominican University

5355 West Drummond
Chicago, Il 60639


Mr. Okab Hassan, Secretary General
Arab American Educational Council

3777 West Columbus Avenue

Chicago, IL 60652



Ms. Hanna Kapica
Polish American Association
Bilingual Citywide Community Relations Representative, Office of Language and Cultural Education
1003 North Leavitt
Chicago, Il 60622

Ms. Michiko Kato

The University of Illinois at Chicago

817 University Hall, 601 South Morgan Street.

Chicago, IL 60607


Dr. Maria Korkatsch-Grozko
Northeastern Illinois University
5500 North St. Louis
Chicago, Il 60625


Mr. John G.W. McCord

Alliance Francaise de Chicago, Executive Director

810 North. Dearborn Street.
Chicago, IL 60610



Mr. Sheba Mando, President

Assyrian National Council of Illinois

2450 West Peterson Avenue

Chicago, Il 60659



Mr. Manuel Medina, Director
Office of Language and Cultural Education, Chicago Public Schools
125 South Clark Street
Chicago, Il 60603


Ms. Xiomara Cortés Metcalfe, Vice Chancellor

Human Resources and Staff Development

City Colleges of Chicago

226 West Jackson Boulevard - Room 1201

Chicago, IL 60606-6998



Ms. Janet Nolan (CO-CHAIR)
Northeastern Illinois University

Multilingual Chicago
P.O. Box 259357

Chicago, Il 60625-9357


Mr. Ernst Ott, National President

German American National Congress

4740 North Western Avenue

Chicago, Il 60625-2097


Ms. Idida Perez, Executive Director

West Town Leadership United

1116 North Kedzie Avenue

Chicago, Il 60651



Dr. Alice Perez Peters
Northeastern Illinois University
5500 North St. Louis
Chicago, Il 60625


Dr. Kim Potowski
Department of Spanish, French, Italian & Portuguese
University of Illinois at Chicago
1040 West Harrison
Chicago, Il 60607-7133


Dr. Parul Raval

Northeastern Illinois University
5500 North St. Louis
Chicago, Il 60625


Dr. Susanne Rott, Associate Professor and

Language Program Director

Germanic Studies, The University of Illinois at Chicago

601 South Morgan Street, MC 189
Chicago, Il 60607


Mr. Vikram Sanghani, Executive Director

Indo-American Center

6328 North California Avenue

Chicago, Il 60659



Ms. JoAnn Serpico, President

Joint Civic Committee of Italian Americans

3800 Division Street

Stone Park, Il 60165



Mr. Kompha Seth, Director

Cambodian Association of Illinois

2831 West Lawrence Avenue.

Chicago, IL 60625



Mr. Marek Stawiarski

President, Polish American Congress, Illnois Division

5711 North Milwaukee Avenue

Chicago, IL 60646



Mrs. Anastasiaa Tsilikas

Member, Clinton Local School Council

6110 North Fairfield avenue

Chicago, Illinois 60659


Mr. Mehis Vahta, President

Estonian House in Chicago, Inc.

P.O. Box 617815

Chicago, IL 60661-7815



Dr. Maria J. Vargas (CO-CHAIR)
2nd Legislative District Education Committee
6007 North Sheridan Road.
Apartment 7-F
Chicago, Il 60660


Mr. Juan Carlos Vidal, Executive Director

Instituto Cervantes de Chicago

John Hancock Building

875 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 2940

Chicago, IL 60611



Dr. Joaquin Villegas

Northeastern Illinois University
5500 North St. Louis Avenue
Chicago, Il 60625


Ms. Bernarda Wong, President
Chinese American Service League, Inc.
2141 South Tan Court
Chicago, Il 60616